Jump to content
Black Chicken Studios Forums
Sign in to follow this  
Riidi WW

Two small questions about the combat rules

Recommended Posts

1) If I am wielding two weapons - like, say, Thumper and Thurvik - do I apply the Attack, Guard, Maneuver, Defense, Gambit results for EACH of them, or just to one of them? So like as a barehander does Attack give me +3 damage or just +1 or +2, and do I have to decide whcih weapon I'm leading with before the round starts?

 

2) Do I apply the base damage results like -6/-2 in addition to the result on the table for each round? How does this work with Special Action results that might increase or decrease my initiative?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ridi;

 

Great questions:

 

1) You get to choose. So if you get an Attack Action, you have to choose either the +2 or the +1. Usually, you want the +2. :)

 

2) That's correct- you apply the -6/-2 first. If you take an Action which would change your Initiative, that applies next round.

 

Let me know if you have any more questions!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, I have another question now. If I have a non-weapon piece of equipment that has an Attack, Defense, Maneuver, or Gambit effect, do I get the effect in lieu of my weapon's effect or in addition to it when I get that roll on the table?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The formatting of the Wardstone is not clear. Does Guard 4 (1) mean it is a consumable item that gives Guard 4 for one round, that it's a repeatable-use item that gives Guard 4 for 1 round whenever used, that it can only be used once per combat, what?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Riidi;

 

If you have a piece of Equipment which has an Action, that Action is available for you to choose during Combat. It does not add, unless it says 'Add'.

 

The Wardstone is consumable, and gives a 4 Guard for the coming Round, great question.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This question is only tangentially about the combat rules. Sometimes it is clear that when I roll a d10 the range of results is 0-9 rather than 1-10. But it is not made explicit if this is always true. What about for starting copper, skill, or defense calculations? What if I roll a 0 (or a 10) on a d10 combat boon or something like that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Riidi;

 

The die should always be 1-10. If you are seeing some areas where you feel it is 0-9, let me know and I'll get that to the Team. Originally, though, you were right- they planned for 0-9, but it confused some of our testers.

 

There could be some artifacts left over from that era in the text, and, if so, let us know.

 

Thanks!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think the big one is the combat results table goes from 0-9. I haven't noticed any places besides that where a d10 seems to start at 0, but given how frequently I refer to it it had a disproportionate effect on me.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I personal think this confusion already start with the Holdfast Rules as you expect there already that people know what d10 means.

In my opinion the first thing about the rules should be to make clear what this short means and that you need a 4, 6, 8, 12 and 20 sided dice.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...