Black Chicken Studios Forums

My first item :) But how does one identify it?

Von-Wulfen

1 hour ago, Von-Wulfen said:

Hi all, Just got my first ever item since I started playing the game, a deck of cards :)

However, I cant identify it so "you do not have information about this item" text when I look at the cards.

How do I go about Identifying items I come across on my adventures?

The easy way is to use the Shop action and sell the item to a vendor (you cannot sell to a catalog for obvious reasons) and then rebuy it.  While you are at it you can do some shopping as well (I usually sell off food items for instance).

59 minutes ago, Grue said:

The easy way is to use the Shop action and sell the item to a vendor (you cannot sell to a catalog for obvious reasons) and then rebuy it.  While you are at it you can do some shopping as well (I usually sell off food items for instance).

This is the best way, although it also borders on being a cheat/exploit. Logically it doesn't make sense; you give the merchant the item and they tell you what it is and what they'll pay for it, and then you'll tell them: "Oh, so that's what it was? Thanks, I won't be selling it after all." and walk out the door. I can imagine the look on the merchant's face. <_<

Identifying/using items takes a whole time slot, so it's needlessly time consuming and thus decreases the value of active items. This in turn forces to use exploits, such as the merchant thing. I really hope items are buffed in Y2 for time slots, this would also improve crafting.

1 minute ago, Marcus said:

This is the best way, although it also borders on being a cheat/exploit. Logically it doesn't make sense; you give the merchant the item and they tell you what it is and what they'll pay for it, and then you'll tell them: "Oh, so that's what it was? Thanks, I won't be selling it after all." and walk out the door. I can imagine the look on the merchant's face. <_<