Black Chicken Studios Forums

Some novice questions - shops/recipes, rolls, actions, spells

Moanerette

Hi all.

I'm new to the game and enjoying discovering things as I go. However, there are a few points that I would like clarification on, if possible.

1. Shops and recipes - I don't really get how these work. I thought I was buying some cloth and thread from the shop, but apparently I bought two recipes. They are now sitting in my wardrobe. What am I actually supposed to do with them?

2. Rolls - spell descriptions include phrases such as "successful Intelligence/Revision Roll v. 9". I understand the concept of making rolls, but the mechanics here are not clearly explained. If I have an Intelligence of 2 and a Revision of 8, then what is my chance of successfully making the abovementioned roll? Is the formula [average of two attributes + d6], or what?

3. Actions and their colour-coding - most of the Actions I've discovered since the start (Befriend, Bully, Encourage Fellow Student etc.) show as purple, which the manual tells me indicates basically no hope. However, I have successfully used Befriend a couple of times. Have I just been extremely lucky, or is the colour-coding not telling the whole story?

4. Adding extra phemes to spells - this makes them harder, but can add unusual and unexpected effects, right?

5. A minor query. I have been trying to increase Schoolyard Education and Observation above 2 and 1 respectively. Yet even when I'm told I successfully trained these skills the numbers don't increase. Is this a bug/anomaly, or by design?

Apologies for so many questions, I hope there are answers!

1. Shops and recipes - I don't really get how these work. I thought I was buying some cloth and thread from the shop, but apparently I bought two recipes. They are now sitting in my wardrobe. What am I actually supposed to do with them?

hmm.. not too sure about what you mean here.